Who is the Aggie Chocolate Factory?

Our Mission
The mission of the Aggie Chocolate Factory is to provide teaching, research, and outreach opportunities to students, faculty, the community, and chocolate producers. We strive to provide ​exceptional opportunities for all to learn about chocolate and its production with attention to quality, safety, sustainability, and efficiency in a professional and collaborative working environment.

Our Story          

The Aggie Chocolate Factory (ACF) opened its doors in November, 2018. After suggesting the need for such a facility, Utah State University (USU) listened. The College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences at USU worked closely with industry to ensure that this learning and research center would provide the best possible education for Utah’s students. Most of the Factory’s equipment and machinery was donated by industry.

Teaching and outreach is the primary mission of the ACF.  Each year, hundreds of USU students complement their lecture material with hands-on experience working at the ACF: North America’s only chocolate science facility operated by a post-secondary institution. The Factory is also an important venue for short courses offered to the confectionery industry across the U.S. and Canada. By offering its expertise and facilities to both established and start-up businesses alike, the ACF also supports the local confectionery industry.

The ACF is operated mainly by qualified student employees, interns, and volunteers under the direction of a full time factory manager. The Factory encourages students from all disciplines across campus to apply for employment; as a part of the Nutrition, Dietetics, and Food Sciences department, the Aggie Chocolate Factory is always willing to help students--and the public--understand the benefits and unique challenges of becoming a food scientist.


Silvana Martini, Ph.D.
Director/Professor/Research Supervisor
Phone: (435) 797-8136



Josie Sorenson - Food Science

Abby Swainston - Food Science

Juhee Lee - Food Science

Mariela Luster - Marketing

Jessica Colgrove - Culinary

Candice Buttars - Interior Design

Janae Ollerton - Marketing

Sarah Rayburn - Marketing

Shawn Gowans - Food Science

Brooklynn Adams - Food Science

McKenzie Israelsen - Food Science

Who Are We?